There is a growing number of U.S. states legalizing the use of marijuana for medical purposes. Unfortunately, North Carolina legislators have yet to decriminalize marijuana possession even for medical use. For this reason, one can get arrested for possessing even a small amount of cannabis in North Carolina, similar to what happened to a top college basketball player in June of last year.
The athlete was stopped at a checkpoint in Durham, where he was discovered to have marijuana in his possession. While it was not specified in the report, the small amount referred to might have been half an ounce or less, which qualifies as a Class 3 misdemeanor in North Carolina. Possession of more than half an ounce is a Class 1 misdemeanor in the state, where the offender can face up to 45 days of jail time and a maximum fine of $1000.
Fortunately, the fact that the sportsman only had a small amount of marijuana likely worked in his favor, along with it being his first offense. As such, the charges were dismissed a month later. However, if you’ve been recently charged by marijuana possession, and it’s more than half an ounce, you will need an experienced criminal attorney to handle your case.
With a skilled legal defense team to back you up, you’ll have a better chance of reducing the penalties involved for such an offense. The criminal attorney you have will work on gathering evidence to potentially lessen the charges brought against you.