If you are charged with DWI (driving while impaired) anywhere in the state of North Carolina, and it is discovered that you have someone under the age of 18 in your vehicle, know that the state’s already harsh DWI law gets even more serious. That’s because according to NC DWI sentencing laws, simply having a juvenile present in the vehicle while drunk-driving entails level 1 sentencing—the second harshest sentencing scenario for DWI.
How harsh, you may ask? For your information, Level 1 sentencing for DWI requires a mandatory 30-day prison term.
So the next time you have dinner in town with your family, don’t even think about having a glass of wine or two, even if you have a high tolerance for alcohol and never had a single speeding ticket under your name. If you do, and you drive your kids home, get arrested, and blow a .08 or higher, rest assured—you’ll be facing a 30 day (or more) jail sentence if convicted.
Even worse, you could be slapped with an additional charge of DWI Child Endangerment if the child in your vehicle is under 16 years of age.
Should you find yourself charged with a DWI in North Carolina, especially if there was a child in your vehicle, contact a DWI lawyer as soon as possible.