In the United States, driving laws vary from state to state. Thus, if you have recently moved to North Carolina, it is critical to familiarize yourself with the laws so you can abide by them. A good starting point is to define what constitutes a driving while impaired (DWI) offense in this state.
In North Carolina, DWI charges can refer to an offense that involves either alcohol or drugs (or both). Drivers aged 21 and above are considered impaired to drive when they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or above, while underaged drivers are considered as impaired to drive when their BAC is 0.04 percent or above. DWI charges can also stem from having an open container of alcohol in the vehicle; it doesn’t matter if the container is full or empty.
Local authorities can stop individuals whom they suspect to be driving while impaired. Motorists may undergo two tests to verify whether police officers have a reason to arrest them or not: the field sobriety test and the portable breath test. People who are pulled over have the right to say no to these tests; however, the police can still choose to arrest them and bring them to the police station to formally file charges. A DWI attorney can step in to defend clients from the charges.